Global Learning Programme Wales

United Nations Sustainable Development Goals

What are the SDGs?

The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) are a road-map for the world to set the agenda for sustainable development. There are seventeen goals, which can be grouped into themes. Each goal has specific targets to end poverty, protect the planet and ensure prosperity for all. The SDGs replaced the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) in 2015.

These UN sources summarise the SDGs in different formats:

The following sources explore the SDGs in more detail, many in pupil-friendly format

GLP-W presentation:

The Royal Geographical Society has these graphic summaries:

Introducing the Goals

Experts inspire

Comic introducing the global goals

Booklet/presentation from The Wales We Want:

CAFOD’s summary of the SDGs

Hwb legacy briefing on MDGs/SDGs


Teaching resources

Support from the World’s Largest Lesson programme

Support from Oxfam

Support from Think Global

Support from Practical Action

Support from UNICEF

Resources focused on the MDGs, but still useful